Saturday, June 6, 2020

Click here to
sign up for our newsletter!

The Journal Publications will be operating remotely effective Thursday, March 19, 2020.

Red Bank Regional High School Academic Performance
Apr 20, 2018

RBR Students Recognized for Academic Performance

Red Bank Regional High School Academic Performance

RBR 2017 AP Scholars, back row: Shane Banfield, Allenhurst; Ian Birn, Red Bank; Seamus Cochrane, Little Silver; Chloe Sharpe, Bradley Beach; and Shelley Banfield, Shrewsbury; (front row) Alex Terody, Union Beach; Alice McKeon, Shrewsbury and Hannah Leahy, Red Bank.

Red Bank Regional High School (RBR) continues its time-honored tradition of honoring academic athletes as they do student-athletes.  For exceptional academic achievement, in this case a straight A in an entire previous school year, students are given the same Varsity Letter an athlete receives for outstanding achievement in their respective sport.

At its February 7 meeting, The Red Bank Regional Board of Education honored the following students for achieving a straight A for all four marking periods from September 2015 through June of 2016.

Seniors honored for making the high honor roll for all four marking periods for grades 9, 10 and 11 include: Isabel Halloran, Willow Martin, Erin Ostrowski and Liam Tyler.

All other students who achieved high honor roll for all four marking periods for the previous school year include:  Caroline Cahill, Elle Chrampanis, Alyssa Conti, Grace Conway, Anna Cuozzo, Michaela Devine, Eric Deykerhoff, Nettie Gaeta, Daisy Garcia, Amy Gardner, Andrew Gibson, Grace Goodwyn, Liva Helt, Charlotte Jansky, Zoe Kelleher, Page Lootsma, Julia Mancuso, Lauren Marcolus, Alyssa McAvoy, Jack McCabe, Kiera McCarthy, Karlyn McGuigan, Anna Moore, Elizabeth Norton, Kelly O’Donnell, Gabriella Pia, Juliana Redaelli, Oliva Rogers, Benjamin Smelas, Olivia Smelas, Ainsley Thistlewaite, Michael Tobin, Katherine Villaluz, Sam Wasserfall, Kyle Weisman, Steven White, Christina Wichmann and Mackenzie Wood.

Also honored at the Board meeting were students for national merit and AP achievements.  Harry Jain was honored as a semifinalist in the National Merit Scholarship Program.  National commended merit scholars included Victoria Lloyd, Willow Martin, Stephen Zacks and Samuel Zatorski.

Advanced Placement (AP) Scholars were also honored in several categories:

• 2017 AP Scholar with Distinction:  Brad Chavero-Correa, Harrison Jain, Hannah Leahy, Victoria Lloyd and Stephen Zacks. These students achieved an average score of 3.5 on all AP exams with scores of 3 or higher on 5 exams.

• 2017 AP Scholar with Honor: Willow Martin and Liam Tyler. These students achieved an average score of 3.25 on all AP exam and scores of 3 or higher on 4 or more exams.

• 2017 AP Scholar Award: Shelley Banfield, Ian Birn, Seamus Cochrane, Rachel Kline, Maxwell Mason, Alice McKeon, Shane Mehr, Erin Ostrowski, Chloe Sharpe and Alex Terody.  These students achieved a score of 3 or higher on 3 or more AP exams.

• 2017 College Board National Hispanic Recognition Program: These students were invited to apply to this program because they scored in the top 2.5% on their PSAT among all Hispanic and Latino test takers in the RBR region.