Sunday, July 12, 2020

Click here to
sign up for our newsletter!

The Journals are the premier publications for high-quality, hyperlocal news and advertising in Monmouth County, New Jersey

Jun 05, 2017

RBR Inducts Six into Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame

The 2017 inductees for the RBR Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame are (left to right): RBR teacher Cassandra Dorn; Red Bank Middle School vice principal James T. Pierson; Dr. Erin Curtis, optometrist; Sergeant Joey Fields, Red Bank Police Department; Dr. Carol A. Penn, family medicine physician; and Ramona Johnson, special education teacher, Newark NJ public schools.

On April 28, Red Bank Regional High School (RBR) inducted six alumni into its Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame. The event was sponsored and organized by the BUC Backer Foundation under co-chairs Judy Noglows and Teresa Jahns Hottmann. This year’s inductees included:

  • Carol A. Penn, DO, MA, FACCE, physician specializing in Family Practice Medicine, Class of 1974, Red Bank resident
  • Cassandra L. Dorn, Red Bank Regional English teacher, Class of 1986, West Long Branch resident, formerly of Little Silver
  • Joey N. Fields, Sergeant Red Bank Police Department, Class of 1987, formerly of Red Bank, and current Tinton Falls resident
  • Ramona Q. Johnson, lead resource inclusion teacher at Hawkins Street School (Newark Public Schools), Class of 1991, Red Bank resident
  • Erin M. Curtis, OD, Doctor of Optometry, Class of 1997, formerly of Red Bank, now Tinton Falls resident, Red Bank business owner and doctor
  • James T. Pierson, Red Bank Middle School vice principal, Class of 2001, Red Bank resident

An induction ceremony took place in the RBR theatre with an audience of students and the alumni’s families and friends. The inductees were each introduced by the RBR Buccaneer Newspaper students, who wrote bios on the alumni for a commemorative journal. The alumni then shared their thoughts and thanks with the audience. Senator Jennifer Beck also attended the ceremony and personally congratulated the honorees.

The festivities continued with a celebratory luncheon catered by the RBR culinary students. Musical accompaniment was provided by the RBR VPA piano majors. Red Bank Mayor Pasquale Menna and Councilman Michael Whelan joined Shrewsbury Mayor Donald Burden and Little Silver Councilman Daniel O’Hern in honoring the inductees with proclamations from their hometowns and the State of New Jersey.