Friday, August 7, 2020

Click here to
sign up for our newsletter!

The Journals are the premier publications for high-quality, hyperlocal news and advertising in Monmouth County, New Jersey

Jun 25, 2020

Holmdel Board of Education Names Veteran Educator to Serve as Interim Superintendent

Holmdel village school Kingergarten Full Day

The Holmdel Township Board of Education voted unanimously at its June 24 meeting to appoint Dr. LeRoy E. Seitz as the district’s new interim superintendent. Seitz will assume the role on July 1.

“These are certainly unique and challenging times, but I strongly believe that to achieve academic excellence, you must be positive and supportive of students, parents, and staff in everything you do,” said Seitz. “We have a high caliber school district in Holmdel that enjoys strong community support. I’m looking forward to working with the board to do more than just maintain the status quo. We want to build positive momentum for my successor to inherit.”

The board’s outgoing superintendent, Dr. Robert McGarry, recently resigned his position to become the assistant superintendent of curriculum, instruction and technology in the Scotch Plains-Fanwood School District.

“Dr. Seitz is a proven educational leader with a long track record of leading districts through transitional periods, similar to ours,” said Board President Vicky Flynn. “He provides the perfect mix of energy and expertise as we begin our search for a permanent replacement for Dr. McGarry, who we wish the best of success in his new opportunity.”

Seitz has served four decades as a public school school administrator in New Jersey and Pennsylvania, including interim postings in Franklin, Pequannock and Parsippany-Troy Hills. He has a proven track record of implementing technology into district instructional and administrative programs, expanding and refining instructional programs, raising student achievement and addressing overcrowding at Hunterdon Central Regional High School District, Parsippany-Troy Hills School District, and Franklin Township School District through successful referendums.