Friday, September 30, 2022

Click here to sign up for our newsletter!

The premier publications for high-quality, hyperlocal news and announcements in Monmouth County, New Jersey

Aug 08, 2022

Four RFH Lacrosse Players Named to All-Shore Team

By Les Pierce

Jackie Braceland

Four members of the Rumson-Fair Haven Regional High School girls’ lacrosse team – Abby Boyle, Janey Sypek, Jacqueline Braceland and Kayse Kiernan – were selected to the All-Shore Lacrosse First Team.

Boyle was credited with an amazing 162 draw controls on the season. The sophomore midfielder also recorded 31 goals, 18 assists, 14 ground balls and seven forced turnovers. She won a spot on the varsity team as a freshman. Her two-year career stats are 46 goals, 25 assists, 20 ground balls, 184 draw controls and 15 forced turnovers. 

With 20 ground balls and 30 forced turnovers to her credit in 2022, Sypek was the sparkplug of a suffocating Bulldog defense. RFH held opponents to three goals or fewer in 10 of the 21 games contested. The junior defender’s career totals are three goals, four assists, 32 ground balls, two draw controls and 55 forced turnovers.

Braceland put up good numbers this spring: 38 goals, 18 assists, 23 ground balls, 39 draw controls and eight forced turnovers.  The midfielder’s career stats are 59 goals, 28 assists, 41 ground balls, 49 draw controls and 28 forced turnovers. Braceland is a junior and has already committed to play for the United States Military Academy at West Point.  

In the sport of lacrosse, 100 career saves by a goalie is considered a commendable milestone worthy of celebration. RFH goalie Kiernan has reached that milestone as a single-season metric twice in her career. She posted 113 saves in 2021 and 110 in 2022.

The junior’s best outing of the season was in a game against Shore Regional on April 7. Kiernan netted 12 shots, while allowing just four goals, enabling RFH to come away with an 8-4 victory. She recorded 10 saves against Moorestown and twice posted nine saves in clashes with Wall Township.  

Freshman midfielder Rachel James was named to the All-Shore Second Team.  

The Shore Conference Lacrosse Coaches Association also announced its 2022 All-Division girls’ squads. Those selections are based on voting by area coaches.  

Boyle, Sypek, Braceland, Kiernan and James were all selected to the Shore Coaches B North All-Division First Team. Named to the All-Division Second Team were Paige Cecil, Mackenzie Kieman, Amelia Manhino and Elliot Van Nice. Head Coach Amy O’Keefe was named B North Coach of the Year.

Boyle, Sypek and Braceland were rostered on the Shore Coaches Monmouth County First Team.