Saturday, January 23, 2021

Click here to
sign up for our newsletter!

The Journals are the premier publications for high-quality, hyperlocal news and advertising in Monmouth County, New Jersey

Feb 12, 2020

CBA Awards Presidential Scholarships to Incoming Class of 2024 Students

Christian Brothers Academy presented 18 presidential scholarships on Jan. 15 to eighth graders who scored exceptionally high on the academy’s entrance exam and displayed an outstanding middle school record.

The presidential scholarships are part of CBA’s Scholarship Initiative, making it possible for highly qualified students to attend CBA regardless of financial background. The academy awards a combined $1.75 million in scholarships and financial aid to its current students.

“Our presidential scholarships give us the opportunity to recognize those students who have achieved academic success in middle school and excelled on the entrance exam,” said CBA President Frank Byrne, ’75. “I congratulate these young men on earning a scholarship, and we look forward to having them with us as members of the Class of 2024.”

The 18 of the 21 winners of the presidential scholarships were in attendance at a short ceremony in CBA’s Quinn Library. These students included:


  • Matthew Battista, of St. Leo the Great
  • Luke De Angelis, of Oak Hill Academy
  • Henry Di Vita, of Thompson Middle School
  • Brady Prunty, of Markham Place School
  • Matthew Dapra, of St. Leo the Great
  • Varun Gabbita, of Manalapan Middle School
  • Alex Kemp, of Thompson Middle School
  • Nicholas Fabricant, of Oak Hill Academy
  • Nathan Galinski, of St. Leo the Great
  • Sean Galvin, of HW Mountz School
  • Andre Govignon, of Marlboro Middle School
  • James Larrabee, of Howell Middle School South
  • Dylan Looney, of St. Catherine School
  • Manuel McPolin, of Bayshore Middle School
  • Peter Noble, of St. Leo the Great
  • Karan Patnaik, of Oak Hill Academy
  • Matthew Polvino, of Tinton Falls Middle School
  • Gavin Rudnick, of Holy Cross School